My Journey Home: Life After the Holocaust

My Journey Home: Life After the Holocaust

from 21.95

Zsuzsanna Ozsvath

Cherry Orchard Books
ISBN: 9781618119001 (hardcover) / 9781618119018 (paperback)
Pages: approx. 280; 13 illus.
Publication Date: February 2019


In the spring of 1944, nearly 500,000 Jews were deported from the Hungarian countryside and killed in Auschwitz. In Budapest, only 150,000 Jews survived both the German occupation and dictatorship of the Hungarian National Socialists, who took power in October 1944. Zsuzsanna Ozsváth’s family belonged among the survivors. This memoir begins with the the author’s childhood during the Holocaust in Hungary. It captures life after the war’s end in Communist-ruled Hungary and continues with her and her husband’s flight to Germany and eventually the United States. Ozsváth’s poignant story of survival, friendship, and love provides readers with a rare glimpse of an extraordinary journey.

Zsuzsanna Ozsváth is Professor of Literary Studies and the History of Ideas and Leah and Paul Lewis Chair of Holocaust Studies at the University of Texas at Dallas. She has published a number of books and articles in literary studies and on the Holocaust. She also studies and teaches the conflicts arising between the Holocaust and our notions of art, beauty, and morality.

Table of Contents

1. Spring Meeting
2. Promise of the Night
3. Encountering Pista
4. In the Garden
5. The First Visit
6. The Rise of Terror
7. Fear
8. Hunger
9. The Wedding
10. Shadows and Light
11. The Railed Cot
12. Quiet Happiness
13. Under Terror
14. Living for the Moment
15. Playmates
16. Dangerous Winds
17. Deportations
18. A Decision
19. Voyage to the East
20. New Circumstances
21. Across the Border
22. New Life
23. Waiting for a Miracle
24. Hamburg
25. First Steps
26. Crisis
27. Major Changes
28. New Life
29. A Terrible Event
30. Becoming Parents
31. Pleasure and Grief
32. At Home
33. Teaching and Fulfillment
34. Past and Present
35. Threats
36. The Crush of the World
37. Life with and without Pista